Lenexa DUI Lawyer


Lenexa driving under the influence (DUI)representation: 

DUI charges in Lenexa have two parts:  the criminal part where the City of Lenexa is trying to put you in jail for up to 1 year, and the administrative part, where the State of Kansas' Department of Revenue is trying to suspend your license. 

In most Lenexa, Kansas DUI cases, you only have 10 days from your arrest to request a hearing to determine if your license will be suspended, and if so, for how long. For a first time DUI, the Department of Revenue may suspend your license for 30 days and then restrict your license for 330 days after that. Penalties for other DUI's include a lifetime driving ban!  It is highly suggested that you retain a Johnson County, Kansas DUI trial attorney immediately to protect your rights and driving privileges.

As mentioned above, a DUI in Kansas essentially has two components; (1) A criminal component where you wind up in jail for up to 1 year and with a fine of thousands of dollars. This is what most folks think of when they think of a DUI charge - this is a criminal court case.; and

(2) A civil component ("the administrative hearing")where your license could be suspended for years.  This is where the Kansas Department of Revenue is seeking to suspend your license in front of a hearing officer.  The worst thing about this hearing is that it is your burden to prove that your license should not be suspended.

As a result, anyone charged with a Lenexa DUI has their liberty, money, and license in jeopardy. This makes contacting a Lenexa DUI trial lawyer extremely important. 

The DUI laws in Kansas are extremely tough, different from other states, and change almost every legislative session. If you're looking for a Johnson County, Kansas DUI trial lawyer, call (913)764-5010 during business hours or (913)406-0732 during non-business hours to set up a no cost initial consultation.

For more information about Lenexa DUI cases, including information on ways you may be able to beat your case, check our main website for retaining a Lenexa DUI lawyer:   http://www.johnsoncountydui.com/Practice-Areas/LenexaDUI.shtml

 
FIRST TIME DUI CONVICTION: A 48 consecutive hour stay is the minimum while the maximum sentence is six (6) months imprisonment, or, in the court's discretion, 100 hours of community service. In some cases, some jurisdictions may let a defendant spend the mandatory 48 hours jail time in a residential treatment program. Probation is available in some cases, but only after the mandatory 48 hour stay has been served.  SECOND TIME DUI CONVICTION: The jail sentence will range from 90 days to a full year. Probation will be granted only after 5 days of jail time have been served. It is possible that a person may be able to consider house arrest or a work release program as jail time.  THIRD TIME DUI CONVICTION: A third DUI conviction is considered a felony, requiring the individual to be labeled a convicted felon for the remainder of their life. The jail sentence will range from 90 days to a full year. Often prosecutors and Courts are much less likely to look at imposing a minimum sentence for a third time DUI like they may have been for a second time DUI. Probation for a third time DUI is only available once a person has served 90 days in custody. A skilled attorney may be able to get up to 88 of the 90 days served under house arrest or in a work release program.  FOURTH TIME DUI CONVICTION: A fourth time DUI conviction is also a felony. The jail sentence will run from 90 to 365 days. Once the sentence ordered by the Court is served, the Department of Corrections will monitor the individual for one year which will include mandatory alcohol treatment.  FIFTH TIME DUI CONVICTION: A fifth time DUI conviction is a felony. Once the sentence ordered by the Court is served, the Department of Corrections will monitor the individual for one year which will include mandatory alcohol treatment. 

Fines - In addition to losing your license and serving jail time, there are also significant expenses that follow a DUI conviction.  FIRST TIME DUI CONVICTION: A $500 - $1000 fine is mandated along with a $150 ADSAP fee. Court costs are also imposed.  SECOND TIME DUI CONVICTION: A $1000 - $1500 fine is mandated along with a $150 ADSAP fee. Court costs are also imposed. THIRD TIME DUI CONVICTION: A $1500 - $2500 fine is mandated along with a $150 ADSAP fee. Court costs are also imposed.  FOURTH TIME DUI CONVICTION: A $2500 fine is mandated along with a $150 ADSAP fee. Court costs are also imposed.  FIFTH TIME DUI CONVICTION: A $2500 fine is mandated along with a $150 ADSAP fee. Court costs are also imposed.

Employment Effects - A DUI can affect your employment in numerous ways.  First, many employers will refuse to hire someone convicted of a DUI. This is especially true if the person has been convicted of a felony (third or more) DUI. Second, the license suspension that accompanies a DUI can make it difficult, if not impossible for people to get to work. Finally, the social stigma that accompanies a DUI can make it difficult to live a normal work life.Higher car insurance rates - A DUI conviction can double or even triple your car insurance rates, if your insurance company doesn't decide to terminate your coverage. This can add up to thousand of dollars in extra costs over the years.

Numerous other effects - A DUI conviction can affect relationships with family and friends. Oftentimes car rental companies will not rent to persons convicted of a DUI. College and grad schools also look down on DUI convictions and a conviction could cost you scholarship money or even a chance of admission.The bottom line is this: If you find yourself charged with a DUI, you need immediate representation to protect your reputation and your livelihood. Call (913)764-5010 or (913)406-0732 to schedule an appointment today.

There is no cost for the initial meeting and we accept credit cards for most Johnson County DUI cases.

 

QUICK LINKS

 

Johnson County, Kansas Traffic Law Center | Traffic & Speeding Ticket Amendment Lawyers-Lawyers-Law Firm | Amendments, Diversions, Legal Representation

The traffic attorneys in our Johnson County law office represent drivers with speeding & traffic tickets/citations in Johnson County District Court and all municipal courts.  Our law firm's traffic lawyers negotiate with prosecutors to minimize or eliminate the negative affects of speeding/traffic tickets have on driving records & insurance rates.  We routinely keep our clients'  licenses "clean," saving them hundreds or thousands of $$$ in auto insurance premium increases.  Our traffic law firm's lawyers represent drivers on driving while suspended (DWS), habitual violator, or driving under the influence (DUI/DWI) cases.

To contact a Johnson County traffic attorney: call 913-764-5010 or email info@JoCoTraffic.com

Our firm's traffic lawyers "fix" Johnson County, Kansas tickets & citations!

The Law Offices of Jeremiah Johnson, LLC., is based in Kansas, and serves the surrounding areas in Kansas

© Copyright Law Office of Jeremiah Johnson, LLC All rights reserved. SEO by LawyerSuccess